Will a water cooler really benefit me?

Status
Not open for further replies.

sedativechunk

Honorable
Apr 24, 2012
Hey I'm new to the concept of water cooling and would (no pun intended) like to get my feet wet with it! Right now I have successfully overlooked my PC with an AMD hex core CPU from 2.7 to around 3.6 GHz (and that is with AMD turbo enabled my base speed minimum is around 3.2,GHz). My CPU temp gets max to around 57 c. I have done all overclocking via the bios on a fully unlocked gigabyte mobo

Bottom line with turbo enabled my individual cores float around 3.6 to 3.8 GHz. When I increase my fsb too far windows doesn't want to start! What I would like to do is get this sucker to a stable minimum of 4 GHz without the turbo and (if possible) have a water cooler than can cool both my CPU AND my EVGA 550 to grafix card.

Would this be possible? The main reason why I came here with questions is because my overclocking limits more than anything. Why does windows not boot when I set the FSB higher? Does it know it's unstable or will overheat? If I install a water cooler is it going to let me over lock any more? I have a 600 watt power supply is it possible I have reached power limitsor my memory doesn't let it OC any taste? I only have 2,RAM slots dual channel at 1333mhz.

Even if I can't. OC anymore I think it would be nice to have a cooler CPU! But more importantantly than the CPU I am having issues with heat with my grafix card. It gets to a very hot 90 C I have to put the fan on max to keep it cool around 70 C while gaming. Does anyone got links resources to cool both grafix and CPU? I just learned about this dual cooling setup tonight

Solution
How long ago did you buy the stuff on eBay? If you can still file a claim, do it and ask for a partial refund of like $50 or something. You don't have to ship it back and your wallet feels better.