Are my HDD really out of date for FPS gaming.

Jylt

Distinguished
Aug 25, 2010
Hello there i'm currently Upgrading my OS to Win7 and Instaling 8gb of ram Graphics card i a Asus Ati HD5850 Direct CU and i have a intel quad 2.4

I'm quite sure all of the above will be ample, not so sure about the hard drives, could anyone shed some light on this please, bare in mind i'm a little strapped for cash atm as i'm a student :/

OS is on the ST350064 1AS and main storage is on WDC WD50 00AAKS 75YGA

also is it best to have Steam and games installed on storage or the OS Drive?

Thanks, Jylt :)

bucknutty

Distinguished
If you look at the SSD VS HD reveiw that Toms Did last month it shows that the HD has very little input on FPS. A new SSD might speed up the loading time of the game but won't change the game play.

I have read Steam likes to be on its own drive because then the game gets to max that sata chanel while windows can use the other sata chanel for the swap file.

Jylt

Distinguished
Aug 25, 2010
Cheers bucknutty and clarkjd, this has helped plenty, my HD are pushing 4 years old, i'm assuming this will not affect performance, i have ran every system check i could find and they are both working up to speed. any ideas?

Jylt

Distinguished
Aug 25, 2010
Cheers bucknutty and clarkjd, this has helped plenty, my HD are pushing 4 years old, i'm assuming this will not affect performance, i have ran every system check i could find and they are both working up to speed. any ideas?

Jylt

Distinguished
Aug 25, 2010

caqde

Distinguished
Well the only thing about 4 year old drives is the point that you would see a pretty good performance increase by moving to a newer drive of the same type as newer drives use denser platters than the ones in your drives, but I would wait before jumping to buy a new harddrive unless you can find one that is on sale for 50-60% off as current prices are outrageous due to what happened in Thailand. Hopefully things will get better in 4-5 months.