Sign in with
Your question

Help me understand water delta

Last response: in Overclocking
July 7, 2012 10:50:55 AM

Hi

I'm new to watercooling and am trying to get as good an understanding as I can. I've read a post connected to the Beginner's stickyabout water delta. The author Conundrum states that low water delta is good. This makes sense to me as it indicates the loop is getting rid of the heat effectively so the CPU, GPU's etc will be well cooled.

Then he says that a delta of 10-15 degrees (or maybe even higher) is fine for GPU loops but a lower figure of 5-10 degrees is better for CPU loops. There is no explanation as to why this difference is desirable. I would have thought the lower the delta the better for both classes of components. I'm planning a single loop so the water delta will be common to both. As a gamer with an sli system my main reason for wanting to switch to water is to calm down my noisy, hot GPU's. The Sandy Bridge CPU is less of a problem.

Can anyone explain the technical reason why water delta should favour CPU loops over GPU'd?

Thanks in advance

Mag

More about : understand water delta

a b à CPUs
a b K Overclocking
July 7, 2012 12:22:47 PM

Delta is simply the difference in the ambient (room) and water temperatures. So if the room where you PC is 25C, and the water in your loop is 30C, then you have a loop with a 5C delta.

A lower delta effectively means that your loop is cooling better. Due to thermodynamics, the lowest the water temperature can naturally be is your room temperature (all things in the room will be at the same temperature). So the closer your coolant temperature is to the room temperature, the more heat your loop is getting rid of.