First time build

Tags:
  • New Build
  • Motherboards
  • Systems
  • Product
Last response: in Systems
December 26, 2009 11:04:32 PM

I was recently gifted a CPU and motherboard which, while not top of the line, are certainly better than what I currently have. I figure it's a good excuse to upgrade the entire system and since I've never built my own computer before, I would like a little advice on pulling it all together.

APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: 1-3 weeks.

BUDGET RANGE: Approximately $800 after rebates (but including shipping). My long-term goal is to eventually replace the CPU/motherboard, so I don't want to invest heavily in items with a limited tech lifespan, but am willing to spend a little extra on items I'll be able to move along to future builds.

SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: Gaming (primarily World of Warcraft and single-player games. I'm not much into the super-intense multiplayer games), web browsing, word processing.

PARTS NOT REQUIRED: I was gifted an Intel E6600 (2.4 GHz dual core, 4M L2, 1066 MHz FSB) CPU along with a Gigabyte GA-EP45-DS4P (P45) motherboard. Neither are what I'd choose today, but hey, they're free! I also have a Soundblaster Audigy 4, keyboard, mouse and Envision 22" monitor.

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: Newegg and Amazon.com

PARTS PREFERENCES: None, but I don't want shoddy parts.

OVERCLOCKING: Unless I get a lot of "this is a bad CPU to overclock" responses, I'll give it a try. I can't afford to overclock too aggressively, however.

SLI OR CROSSFIRE: Not until I upgrade the CPU/motherboard.

MONITOR RESOLUTION: 1680x1050

PROPOSED PARTS LIST: Based on various sources on these boards and outside reviews, I've come up with what I hope is a fairly reasonable parts list. That said, I don't know whether they'll all play nicely together and whether there might be better options out there (either better-priced or better-quality are both welcome).