New Computer with Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R

earwax_man

Distinguished
Nov 29, 2009
I just built a new computer, but I have a few teething problems since it's my first build.

These are my specs:
Antec 1200
Antec CP 850 PSU
i7 930
Stock cooler (until my prolimatech megahalems arrives soon...)
8600GT (Until my 5970 arrives)
Samsung Blu-Ray Drive w/ dvd reader & writer
1 TB Seagate HDD
64GB Kingston V-Series SSD
Gigabyte ga-x58a-ud3r
24" Samsung Monitor

Now for the issues:
#1: My SSD isn't showing up. It's connected properly though. When I installed win7, it wasn't recognised. Even when the HDD was disconnected. I have AHCI enabled.

Here's a pic.

SSD.jpg

#2: I have 6GB RAM. Windows says 6GB is available, but 2GB is usable. BIOS says the same, but CPU Z says there's 6GB available. Suggestions?

RAM.jpg

Other than that it's flawless :D

bilbat

Splendid
Where is your SSD connected? If it's not on the ICH, get it there! Ideally, with that board, you want your SSD (assuming you intend to boot it) on SATA2_0, your other HD on SATA2_1, your DVD on GSATA2_8, and any front panel eSATA connector on GSATA2_9; run the ICH (the first set of BIOS entries), the rear panel eSATA controller, and the GSATA 8_9 controller all in AHCI (AHCI on the Intel ICH will give you TRIM pass-through for your SSD; on the other two controllers it will give you 'hot-plug' for the eSATAs; disable the Marvell...

The only thing beside hardware I've ever seen (and rarely!) for the 'useable' RAM problem is to open msconfig (just type it into your search bar and hit enter), select the 'Boot' tab, and click on the 'Advanced Options' button; check "Maximum Memory", and scroll up to the amount you should have; apply and reboot - if that doesn't fix it, you have a bent socket pin under your CPU (90%+ likely, unfortunately...) - see i3/i5/i7 'Missing' Memory in the 'sticky'...

BTW - I love your 'avatar' picture! Can you point me at a larger version?

earwax_man

Distinguished
Nov 29, 2009