Sign in with
Your question

Is it best to buy reference graphics cards when watercooling

Last response: in Overclocking
July 13, 2012 7:50:29 AM

Hi All

I'm new to watercooling and am about to try my first build (final parts should be delivered today). I have bought two EK full cover blocks for my 500 series sli graphics system. I used EK because they have a configurator tool and could provide blocks which matched my Pallit cards which have non reference (custom) pcb's.

Thinking about the future, when I buy my next graphics cards is it best to simply get the cheapest version of the model I want with reference pcb and cooler? This should overcome any compatibility problems but are there any real advantages to non reference pcb's?

Also do any companies sell cards without any cooler at all as it is simply going to be removed (which may prove difficult/dangerous) which should be a bit cheaper?

Thanks in advance

Mag
July 13, 2012 9:26:43 AM

As you probably already know EK has a verified compatibility list for each of their GPU waterblocks, and from what I can tell its a rather expansive list. Possibly just verify there is a waterblock to fit the cards you're about to buy beforehand. Even if you wait to order the GPU block at least youll know it does exist.

As for cards coming all naked and ready for the addition of a waterblock...youre not likely to find one directly from a manufacturer, and ill make a wager they dont exist in the newer high end type cards youd take the trouble to watercool because lets be honest no one is gonna watercool an 8400gs. However some companies make cards that already have the waterblock on them, EVGA comes to mind.

hope that helps
a b U Graphics card
a c 324 K Overclocking
July 13, 2012 1:03:04 PM