Sign in with
Your question

X58 Motherboard for New Build

Last response: in Motherboards
a b V Motherboard
July 21, 2010 12:52:06 AM

Hi all,
I'm currently in the process of building my next computer, and I'm debating which motherboard to buy. I have some experience with parts (one prior build, but I do a ton of research) and I know that you almost always get what you pay for (but we'd all like to pay a little bit less, huh?), so I'm familiar with the good brands and whatnot.

I'm looking at motherboards around $250, so my big options are:
Asus P6TX58D-E ($239.99, http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...)
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R ($199.99, http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...)
Maybe the Gigabyte X58A-UD5, if my budget allows.
I have a few others but can't remember them; might be able to update if I can find them again.
Might be able to scrounge up a few more pennies and maybe get a sub-$300 board, so recommendations are welcome for that range as well.

My other components will (tentatively) be:
Core i7-930 ($289.99)
3x2GB OCZ Gold DDR3 1600 Triple Channel Memory ($149.99 - $30 MIR - $15 combo savings with the CPU)

Currently have (previous build - less than 6 months old):
Antec 650W PSU
500GB HDD
64GB SSD
XFX 9800GT
Antec 300 Case

My goal with the motherboard is to be able to do some high quality (not necessarily highest) gaming, and maybe some overclocking if I have spare time (I'm a engineering student). I would find any reasoning why certain motherboards are better than others very useful, and I'm willing to invest in quality hardware. I'm also seriously thinking about another 9800GT or something in SLI, so multiple PCI-E slots are definitely needed. USB 3.0 and SATA 6Gbps are also pluses, but not requirements.
I also have a Titan Fenrir CPU cooler, so if you know of any issues with certain motherboards, please let me know.

Thank you thank you thank you!

More about : x58 motherboard build

July 21, 2010 2:40:30 AM