Sign in with
Your question
Closed

Case speakers

Last response: in Motherboards
Anonymous
a b V Motherboard
July 21, 2010 8:48:45 PM

I have an expensive motherboard and computer case . Neither one has a speaker for post errors . To me it would help as I am a new builder.
Which one should have had speaker? If neither why not???

More about : case speakers

a c 156 V Motherboard
July 21, 2010 9:12:14 PM

Traditionally, they were included with the case. However, they are also built onto several motherboards.

Unfortunately, many motherboards and popular cases do not include them. You can either buy one (here's a place):
http://www.cwc-group.com/casp.html

or do what I do - salvage one from an old AT case.
Score
a b V Motherboard
July 21, 2010 9:34:09 PM

If you ever buy a case again, you should look for one with a speaker, as some still come with one. It's more like a buzzer these day however, but it beeps.
For example I have a cooler master case which came with one.
Score
Related resources
Anonymous
a b V Motherboard
July 21, 2010 9:55:39 PM

Thanks for the help guys. Guess what I started looking through the stuff that came withe my Thermalake level 10 case.( it was that or a new car)
and i found a little speaker with about 2 in of wire hooked to it that said
Speaker!!! It is a 4 wire plug with a red and black wire. Does the red wire go to +5v and the black wire to speaker or does it matter??

Again thanks for the help!!
Score
a b V Motherboard
July 21, 2010 10:00:52 PM

Red is indeed +5v and black ground.
Score
Anonymous
a b V Motherboard
July 21, 2010 10:14:37 PM

So the red would to +5 and the black to what is labeled speaker.
This is a great forum but when I sigh up I keep getting messages to send a reply to a Email that was sent me. But I never recieve a Email . How do I fix that??

Thanks again !!
Score
July 21, 2010 10:24:20 PM

you must buy motherboard and casing which has built in speakers.
Score
Anonymous
a b V Motherboard
July 21, 2010 10:46:59 PM