deathdawg

Distinguished
Dec 29, 2009
i installed a second hard drive on a dell it worked just fine. then it froze so i shut it off i had to put the drive back in cuz i didnt install it so when i put it back in i bent a pin turned it on it didnt boot so i checked everything fixed pin and now all i get is press del to set up how do i fix? im a noob just so u know thanx

Solution
No, you need a real bootdisk. Try downloading the ultimate boot disk. It will boot from a CD, and give you more tools then you know what to do with. You'll need to know how to move around in DOS/unix for many of them.

If that sounds like to much, perhaps you can pull the main disk and put it in another computer? Perhaps a friends?

4745454b

Titan
I am sorry for this post.

i installed a second hard drive on a dell

Good.

it worked just fine.

Glad to hear it.

then it froze

Bummer.

so i shut it off

Good idea.

i had to put the drive back in

Huh? When did you take it out?

cuz i didnt install it

Yes you did, in the first quote. You even used the word install.

so when i put it back in i bent a pin

On the drive?

turned it on

With a bent pin? WHY?

didnt boot

Duh.

so i checked everything fixed pin and now all i get is press del to set up how do i fix?

For the bios I'm assuming here. Can you get into the bios? Is the drive seen by the bios? Can you load the bios defaults and save/exit?

im a noob just so u know thanx

I think some of us have figured that out already. I'm sorry, I don't mean to be rude. Once you fix your computer problem you might want to check out this link.

http://lmgtfy.com/?q=when+to+use+a+period+in+a+sentence

4745454b

Titan