Sign in with
Your question

New core i7 build - help needed

Last response: in Systems
December 30, 2009 11:31:54 AM

:hello:  Hey guys,

<skip this part if you don't care for background info>

I'm new. I'm from Israel (yeah, i know :kaola:  ), and i'm buying a new computer soon.
I've been using my Barton 2500+/GF4MX400 for the last 6 years or so, and it served me well,
but i figure it's about time i'll upgrade, right ?

Considering the fact that i'll probably stick with this build for the next 6 years or so, i'm going high end. Consider the fact I'm from the middle east, and Taxing + Disturbution costs nearly double the Month-old technologies that get here, my high end ain't probably your high end.

Also, i can't buy from newegg (it's pretty popular around this forums, eh).

</skip>

The current build will cost me about 1750$ (or 1500$ without the monitor), and that's around the area i'd like to stay - money wise. So if you suggest i'll upgrade something, please suggest what i should downgrade instead too...

The computer will mostly be used for games and audio recording/editing.. maybe some video editing down the road. Overclocking is something i'll probably get into later on, when i'll need it (circa 2012~, if i'm lucky, or 2010, if i'm not :crazy: )

APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: Beginning of /Mid January 2010
BUDGET RANGE: 1500$ After Rebates (1750$ with Monitor)

SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: Gaming, Sound Editing, Watching Movies, etc...

PARTS NOT REQUIRED: Monitor.

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: I guess it's non-relavant, but
. Can't buy from newegg, and rather not from another country (high taxes and such).

PARTS PREFERENCES:

CPU : Intel core i7 920

Mobo : ASUS ‏P6T Deluxe V2

Memory : ‏3x2GB G.Skill NQ Edition Triple Channel

GPU : Sapphire ‏HD 5770 New Edition 1GB GDDR5 DX11 2xDVI HDMI DP PCI-E

Hard Drive : WD Caviar Green 1 TB, SATA 3 Gb/s, 64 MB Cache

DVD-RW : ‏DVD±RW GH22LS50 x22 Black LightScribe Sata Retail‎