Sign in with
Your question
Solved

First time build - low priced HD video/Gaming build

Last response: in Systems
December 30, 2009 8:47:48 PM

Hi, this is my first time trying a build, and I'm trying to do it for ~$600 dollars.

Usage: Connect via HDMI to 1080p HDTV - Watch HD video, play some new FPS games

This is what i have so far at Newegg:

- AMD Phenom II X2 550 Black Edition 3.1GHz Socket AM3 80W Dual-Core Processor + ASUS M4A785-M Micro ATX AMD Motherboard Bundle - $180.00

- CORSAIR 2GB (2 x 1GB) DDR2 533 (PC2 4200) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory $52.00

- CORSAIR CMPSU-650TX 650W Compatible with Core i7 Power Supply
$110.00

- Western Digital Caviar Green 1TB 3.5" SATA 3.0Gb/s Internal Hard Drive $94.00

- Antec Two Hundred Black Computer Case $45.00

- XFX Radeon HD 4870 750MHZ 1GB 3.6GHZ GDDR5 PCI-E 2XDVI HDCP Video Card $154.00

Total ~$640.00 CDN

I went with the phenom II x2 on a recommendation that it is very similar to the x3 for less cash.

I also have a question regarding HDMI output - if i conncet the MOBO to teh TV via the HDMI port, will that utilize both the GPUs? or do i need to connect from the 4870 port via DVI HDMI adapter?

Thanks for any help / suggestions on how to make this the best build for this kind of money.

:) 
December 30, 2009 9:10:07 PM

Your on-board graphics will be ignored when you hook up the 4870 to your tv.

I would change the ddr2-533 to ddr2-800.

I like your choice of hdd.

I think your psu is a little over-powered and it appears to be geared toward intel motherboards. I would have picked something that concentrated more on minimizing fan noise.

Good choice of board, but keep in mind that in 18 months it will be obsolete, so I would choose a ddr3 board if you are planning on keeping this build for years and years.

Next up: buy an a/v receiver.
December 30, 2009 9:17:52 PM

Ok, thanks, im going to change the board to a 785 ddr3, and change the ram accordingly.