Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Backup cd windows xp mce to windows 7 home full version

Last response: in Windows XP
July 20, 2012 2:15:32 PM

I want to create a backup cd of all my programs I'd like to keep.I'm moving up to windows 7 because of all the benefits in it.XP MCE has been a pain in the behind.I've never done anything like this before.Will anyone guide me in the procedures I need to do?I have a dell xps 400/9150 if that is important to know.

More about : backup windows mce windows home full version

a c 372 $ Windows 7
July 20, 2012 2:33:00 PM

You can't copy your installed programs to a CD and then install them again on 7. You need the original setup disks or download files to install them.

You can probably backup your options and settings in the programs, need to check each one if you can do that and how.
m
l
July 20, 2012 3:27:46 PM

Thanks, so what do I need to create a backup disk for?Drivers or what?I keep reading about creating one.
m
l
Related resources
a c 372 $ Windows 7
July 20, 2012 3:30:01 PM

You can have many types of backups. File backups, OS backup, drivers, etc...
A "backup" is just a second copy of something you don't want to lose to a failure.

You can make an image backup of the whole drive using a cloning program like clonezilla or Ghost.

That won't do you any good if you are installing a new operating system though.
m
l
July 20, 2012 4:47:54 PM

Thanks again.I've been thinking more about this.How do I go about creating a backup disc of my system drivers?Such as ati radeon,intel pro network connection,sigmatel audio etc.
you have been helpful in understanding what a backup is for thus far.
m
l
a c 372 $ Windows 7
July 20, 2012 4:54:14 PM

Download the drivers and burn them onto a disk. You can't copy them from your system for the same reason you can't just save your installed programs and move them to another computer.

If you are going form XP to Windows 7 you need to download new drivers anyway.
m
l
July 20, 2012 5:37:09 PM