Bios Flash Protection?

motherboards30

Distinguished
Jul 23, 2010
Hello, I need help finding a motherboard that has BIOS Write Protection. They seem to be very rare for some reason.

Some specific model numbers would help. Thanks.

motherboards30

Distinguished
Jul 23, 2010
Should add that I don't believe Dual BIOS provides any write protection. Only restores a flash that was damaged?

Know for sure there used to be a jumper setting that you could lock the BIOS with on certain boards. Anyone?

motherboards30

Distinguished
Jul 23, 2010

Yeah but see I have a rare problem(although i've found some websites that prove im not the only one) of some rootkit/trojan controlled by a remote hacker that must have gotten into my BIOS.

http://www.securityfocus.com/news/11372

Researchers: Rootkits headed for BIOS 2008-04-25
Anonymous (1 replies)
I have been fighting bios rootkits for 5 years.I was hacked by russian hackers.It attacks motherboards,video cards,pci cards,DVD/CD firmware,hard drive mbr.So no matter what you do it is allways protected.The only way to get rid of these rootkits are to replace the entire computer.No one believed me till jan 2008.Once you get hit with these rootkits your computer is toast.And there is nothing to stop it.Manufacturers need to put jumpers on all hardware to protect the hardware from being flashed.

Also you don't need physical access to flash bios anymore due to the fact that you can flash in windows. So once the hacker gains admin privileges to my system, he can flash it. I'm not able to stop it.

The problem is the BIOS boots and runs but the rootkit remains even after replacing/reformatting the hard drive and re-installation of windows. So the BIOS or firmware is all I can come up with. Figure that a jumper on the motherboard not allowing the BIOS to be flashed without physical access would be the best bet.

Even an older board that supports an Intel Core 2 Duo would be fine.

motherboards30

Distinguished
Jul 23, 2010