CPU v GPU temperatures

MagR

Distinguished
Aug 31, 2009
Hi All

I’m new to watercooling and have just built my first loop (with a lot of help from this forum). Now I have my temperature results I wanted to ask a couple of questions. My loop consists of dual gtx 570’s overclocked to 800mhz core clock and 4ghz effective memory clock and a Core i5 2500k overclocked to 4.5ghz at 1.23v. I am using a 4x140 full height radiator from Alphacool.

My GPU temps are amazing me. On air they could get up to 80C and the fans were very noisy. Using EK full cover blocks for graphics card watercooling Unigine Heaven gives GPU max temps of around 40C (varies slightly depending on ambient temps and fan speeds). This is far better than I expected as I was getting 40C at idle on air. I also get the same temperatures using the Metro 2033 benchmark on a continuous loop which I’ve always found very GPU intensive.

My CPU temperatures are great but the difference is not so pronounced. On air with the Be Quiet Dark Rock Advanced aftermarket cooler I was getting a max temp of 63C (some cores slightly lower) using Prime 95 small FFT’s (or blend for that matter). This always struck me as pretty good but I think I am lucky as I can get a perfectly stable 4.5ghz with vcore of only 1.23v which keeps the temperatures down. In my new watercooling loop with an XSPC Raystorm CPU block I’m getting a max temp of 51C using Prime.