snipethewolf

Distinguished
Aug 18, 2008
Im building an HTPC and need a little help with trying to decide on a few of the details.

The hardware I have down its just deciding on the best pick for software and OS. I want to use it for web browsing, hulu streaming, maybe some DVD and Video watching ect... I'm new to the HTPC area of computers so any suggestions on what OS and other software I might need.

Sorry if this is in the wrong area on the forum.

Solution

There are lots of workable choices for OSes and software for those purposes. You have dozens of Web browers and media players to pick from. About the only constraint is that you want to watch Hulu videos, which means that you need an OS that is supported by Adobe Flash player. Flash player works on all versions of Windows from 98SE through Windows 7, Linux, MacOS, and Sun Solaris. That's a wide range of choices to pick from, so just go with what you are familiar with or go try out a bunch of various options to see what you like. If you want some suggestions, I'd suggest trying the following:

1. OSes: Windows 7, Ubuntu Linux
2. Media players: VLC or Mplayer (Linux/Solaris) for video, Amarok for audio
3. HTPC video recording/playback programs: Windows Media Center (Windows), MythTV (Linux, Solaris- Windows is a work in progress), some like SageTV too.
4. Web browsers: Mozilla Firefox, Opera, Internet Explorer, bunches of others- take your pick.

snipethewolf

Distinguished
Aug 18, 2008
I guess I was not clear on my question. I know what options are out there for HTPC's, a simple google search finds more options then I can shake a fair size stick at.

The heart of my question is what has shown to be a better choice for HTPC's?

Windows 7 Home prem, using something like WMC, or MyHTPC?

Or something like Ubuntu running MyHTPC or LinuxMCE?