Sign in with
Your question

Need advice: Best hardware for Linux-based HTPC/Server combo

Last response: in Systems
January 2, 2010 3:00:02 PM

I'm a newbie - this is my first build from scratch - interested in building an HTPC / home server combo that will use only open-source software. (I use Ubuntu 8.04 desktops at home and work, along with a MacBook laptop that travels with me (for graphics work)). I've read some older posts about how to do this, but want to take advantage of the newer CPUs, motherboards, etc. that have come out since those posts were written.

APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: ASAP (January 2010). BUDGET RANGE: $400-$500 (after rebates)

SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT:
The system's main goal will be to play online content (hulu, etc) on our new HDTV using the HDMI connection. But I would also like it to be able to:
> Act like a DVR to record sports, etc.
> Network all the computers (we have a Windows laptop, a MacBook, and a Linux desktop, plus we'll have this new HTPC) to connect wireless to the printer (right now we bring the laptops to the printer and connect via USB).
> Allow all the computers to back up to this server, though I'm not sure how practical that is if I'm also using it as a HTPC.

PARTS NOT REQUIRED: (e.g.: keyboard, mouse, monitor, speakers, OS): No need for monitor or OS (boxee and ubuntu)

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: Currently use newegg, but any is fine. COUNTRY OF ORIGIN: I live in USA

PARTS PREFERENCES:
Here's the setup I THINK I need:
AMD Athlon II X4 620 Propus 2.6GHz Socket AM3 95W Quad-Core Processor (but worried about the 95W; I've been reading I need something closer to 65W)
ASUS M4A785TD-M EVO AM3 AMD 785G HDMI Micro ATX AMD Motherboard
OCZ Platinum 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3
hec Black 0.7mm Thickness SECC 7K09 Micro ATX Media Center / HTPC Case
Western Digital Caviar Green WD10EADS 1TB SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive
ZALMAN CNPS 8700 NT 110mm 2 Ball CPU Cooler