Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Are these safe overclock settings for a HIS Radeon 7850?

Last response: in Overclocking
July 25, 2012 1:58:54 PM

I'm quite new to overclocking so I am using AMD overdrive to give my 7850 a slight increase in power, thats all i want to do, so please dont reccomend me another overclocking software. Anyway right now in overdrive I have:

Gpu clock set to 1000 Mhz

Memory clock set to 1350 Mhz

Automatic fan control, as i think it does the job pretty good.

Power control at 0% default setting.

I shouldnt need to increase the power control setting if im not experiencing artifacts or crashes etc? Its been running fine on battlefield 3 at ultra so far.

My PSU is a 650w And I have an i7 at stock clock speeds, that should be all the info required, thanks in advance for your advice.

More about : safe overclock settings radeon 7850

a c 103 U Graphics card
a b K Overclocking
July 25, 2012 2:09:29 PM

if you havent touched the voltage on the card then it is pretty hard to hurt the card no matter what settings you put the core/memory at....it will just crash if it cant handle it and even then you are not hurting it unless your temps are crazy high...which i doubt is the case in this situation..if you could just post your temps in game that would eliminate all doubt that your settings will hurt the card
m
l
July 25, 2012 2:16:13 PM

Thanks for the speedy reply. My temps when idling are about 25-30 degrees celsius

Under load, on a 64 player server with Ultra settings on BF3 i get to 55-60 degrees celsius. And still no artifacts as of now.
m
l
Related resources

Best solution

a c 103 U Graphics card
a b K Overclocking
July 25, 2012 2:24:23 PM

yea thats perfectly acceptable....to be on the safe side I try to keep my GPU temps below 80c under load...you are well below that you are fine and in no way causing harm to your gpu
July 25, 2012 2:28:02 PM

drums101 said: