My first time OCing: Phenom II x4 955 (c2)

taydee

Honorable
Jul 12, 2012
Okay, so this is my first time overclocking. I have an AMD Phenom II x4 955BE C2. I have heard that the C2 stepping kind of sucks for OCing but his is what I've managed (or basically all I've tried so far based on what I've seen my chip would be capable of, most people said higher than 3.6 is a pain):

3.6GHz clock set with the BE multiplier, not the FSB
2200MHz on the NB
Stock 1.35v on cpu
Stock 1.1v (I think it was) on NB

I ran this in Prime 95 for 45 minutes (was going for an hour but prime 95 stopped itself for some reason, does this mean the cpu made a miscalculation or is unstable?) with a maximum temperature of 48C with an ambient room temperature of ~25C.

Is this good? Any recommendations on how to improve my OC? I didn't mess with voltages because I'd prefer not to if that would decrease the lifespan of my chip. But I wouldn't mind a slight OC of the voltages if it would give a big payout in clocks.

Also, slightly unrelated, would this OC bottleneck a 7850 at 1600x900? A little or a lot? Basically the only reason I'm OCing is to get the most out of a new gpu when I buy it, too poor to get a new cpu and mobo along with it. ><

Edit: After doing some research I figured out that something messed up in prime95, either my cpu or ram(it was a rounding error if that helps), didn't realize I was doing a blend test of both. Shouldn't be ram though because I just did 4 passes of memtest86+ on it last night after lowering the timings from 9-9-9-24 to 8-8-8-24.

Solution
If in prime you received a fatal error or such on a core(s) then yes it probably is not all that stable.