TheAndyPlan

Distinguished
Mar 10, 2010
hi, i built my first computer the other day.
Case: ATCS 840
CPU: i7 extreme 975
MOBO: evga x58 le/
GPU: geforce 9800gt (getting a gtx 285 eventually)
PSU: Ultra x3 1000W
RAM: Super Talent 6gb Triple Channel DDR3 1600

Nothing is overclocked and all fans are running at 100%

OK, so for the first couple days i had the stock intel cpu cooler installed, and it gave me some pretty good temperature dispite all i've head about how bad the work. i was getting 25 degrees average idle, 37 average playing bad company 2 with max settings.

I had already bought a Cooler Master hyper n520 cooler since everywhere i read said to throw out the intel cooler and get a 3rd party cooler, and the hyper n520 got good reviews all around with a 10-15 degree decrease on average. i had my uncle help me install it because frankly i'm new to building and i didnt want to screw anything up. i got some ocz freeze thermal compound and he put it on the cpu after cleaning the intel compound off of it. he covered the cpu plate and we attached the n520.

when we booted up i noticed immediately that the temperature guage on the motherboard was reading it higher than the intel cooler. now i get 34 degrees idle and 41 or 42 degrees playing bad company 2. my computer has reset itself twice while playing so far.

So did i get a defective/ bad cooler? bad compound? too much compound on the cpu?

i would put the intel one back on but i can get all except one nut off of the n520 so it wont detach from the motherboard (it just spins the screw around when you turn it.) just my luck right?

Currently my temperatures are, just running firefox, AIM and E-LEET:

CPU: 34
VREG: 47
System: 26
Core1: 51
Core2: 47
Core3: 49
Core4:47

During the game the Core1-4 temps are all 50+ but never go past 59...ugh.

cscott_it

Distinguished
Jul 30, 2009
My temps are lower under a gaming load with a mild OC (3.2 GHZ on 920).