Sign in with
Your question

NAS Setup for Media Streamer

Last response: in Storage
December 20, 2011 12:51:54 PM

Hello,

I am new to the NAS thing, so I need a little bit of help figuring out what I should do here.

I have a Mede8er MED500X2 Media Streamer. Now, it can hold a internal HD up to 3TB which is fine, but as I expand my digital media library I know I'm going to need more space. I was thinking of just setting up an NAS box with more space up front for the MED500X2 to stream from via ethernet.

My question is, does the NAS have to be connected to my modem/router for it to connect to another device via ethernet, or can the NAS/Steamer act as their own mini-network with just an ethernet cable between the two?

It's hard for me to run an ethernet cable from my home network upstairs to my living room downstairs, so I'm trying to avoid having to connect to it if possible.

Any insight would be great!
a b G Storage
December 20, 2011 7:25:01 PM

SinisterMessiah said:
Hello,

I am new to the NAS thing, so I need a little bit of help figuring out what I should do here.

I have a Mede8er MED500X2 Media Streamer. Now, it can hold a internal HD up to 3TB which is fine, but as I expand my digital media library I know I'm going to need more space. I was thinking of just setting up an NAS box with more space up front for the MED500X2 to stream from via ethernet.

My question is, does the NAS have to be connected to my modem/router for it to connect to another device via ethernet, or can the NAS/Steamer act as their own mini-network with just an ethernet cable between the two?

It's hard for me to run an ethernet cable from my home network upstairs to my living room downstairs, so I'm trying to avoid having to connect to it if possible.

Any insight would be great!

Yes, NAS+Media player can be on its own network, but the question is How do you move the media content to it :-)