Sign in with
Your question

Loop Cooling question

Last response: in Overclocking
July 30, 2012 12:02:52 AM

This is my first build ever and I already have a case that came pre-installed with a kit. I'm going to change out the CPU cooling and put one that matches my socket type. I was just Curious if this setup would cool a CPU and 3 EVGA 580's? What would I need to add to make it sufficient?

This is the case: http://www.frozencpu.com/products/14189/cst-1229/Custom...

More about : loop cooling question

July 30, 2012 12:45:10 AM

You will need to get the waterblocks for the 580's. Koolance, EK, and Heatkiller are popular ones.
GPU Blocks

For 3 580's you will also need at least 1 more 360 radiator and another smaller one, if not 2 more 360 rads. This can be found out by adding the TDP of the three 580's (I believe it is 244. So 244X3= a total TDP of 732) and the TDP of your CPU block and then find the heat dissipated by the radiator. You can find out how to better do this in the sticky and the links found within.
Radiators

You may need to upgrade the pump. I would find a good review of it and find the head pressure and gp/m and make sure your loop won't be too restrictive.
Pumps

All of those links are in the sticky and I suggest you take a good look at The Sticky V2 to get a better understanding. It has all of the info you will need, and then you can customize your loop with exactly what you want/need.
m
l
a b à CPUs
a c 330 K Overclocking
July 30, 2012 1:54:15 PM

Quote:
I was just Curious if this setup would cool a CPU and 3 EVGA 580's?

No. You need to determine your total loop TDP and build from there. (Hint: a single GTX 580 has a TDP of 244w; most Ivy Bridge/Sandy Bridge CPUs are TDP of 95w-130w, depending on actual chip. You have 3x 580's and 1 CPU...then compare with the load potential of a single RS360.) (Hint #2: RS360 dissipates around 525w for 10 degree Celsius delta w/1800 rpm, fans and 1.5 gpm flow)

Quote: