Do I need Water Cooling?

G

Hello,

I am fairly new to the PC Community and have started with my first gaming PC.

Some of the components include:

i7-3770k CPU

GTX Evga 670 2/4gb

8Gb Kingston Hyper X Ram

850W Corsair CMPSU-850AX

ASUS Z77 Sabertooth Mobo

2 TB HDD

w/ the Antec DF-85 Full Tower Case

I plan to do overclocking, but as I have never overclocked, I do not know to the extent of how far I will overclock. Probably 30% Will be the highest I'll go with OC'ing the CPU.

I am looking at the Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling for the CPU. Although what confuses me, is that the Corsair H60 does not look like anything I've seen (custom tubes/loops with a radiator, etc.)

Do I need the Corsair H60, or more expensive methods such as custom tubes?

Or is the 7 stock 120/140mm fans on the Antec DF-85 Enough?

Also, im presuming the GPU can be overclocked as well, do I need liquid cooling for the GPU?

Thanks for any replies!

drums101

Distinguished
for around a 30% overclock watercooling would not be necessary.....you could easily get away with a higher end air cooler for the speed that you are looking for. Especially if you are new to overclocking you are probably not going to push it THAT far.....the reason why the watercooler that you found looks different is because that is an all in one system.....requires no maintenance once you install it you are good to go....they generally perform right on par with high end air coolers so they are not worth the price premium unless you are going for a really quiet/silent pc....for your setup I would recommend that you keep the stock cooling for your graphics card and oc that a little bit....the stock cooler will handle it fine and for your cpu I recommend that you get a good air cooler and save yourself alot of cash. here is a good air cooler for cheap that will perform very well

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835103065

Hazle

Distinguished
considering you're still clearly a beginner at this; No.