Sign in with
Your question

First own-build PC

Last response: in Systems
January 4, 2010 6:43:29 PM

Hey all, finally joined Tom'sHW after using it for alot of research and info and now i need some more help from you guys.

I'm a computer student at college and am about to order parts for my new system build when work pay me in a few days. I know quite alot about computers as it is but would like you lot to give me some advice/ideas on the system im thinking of building so far... :D 

APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: End of this week (I get paid on Thursday, plan to order on thursday aswell)

SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: (Gaming, (WoW, LOTRO, AoC, some fps (few other games), internet, movies, college work (spreadsheets, programming etc)

PARTS NOT REQUIRED: Monitor, keyboard, mouse, speakers, case (already bought a full size ATX case) Already have and will be using Windows 7 home premium 32-bit.

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: awd-it.com, ebuyer.com, scan.co.uk, play.com (Places that do cheap/fast delivery and are reliable/trusted)

PARTS PREFERENCES: ATX motherboard (no micro stuff :p ) AMD and ATI CPU and GPU (fancied a change from intel and nvidea)

OVERCLOCKING: I plan to OC most of it when its built hence the cpu with unlocked multipliers

MONITOR RESOLUTION: 1280x1024

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS: I already have a list of parts for you guys to take a look at, see what you guys think and if ive picked some good/bad things or things that arent compatible.

CPU: AMD Phenom II x2 550- BLACK EDITION (No point with buying an x4, most games i believe only run with 2 cores and i dont game and watch films/do other CPU resource heavy stuff at once so no need with a x4 with lower GhZ. Plus X2 can be unlocked to X4 with BIOS hack and some batch luck to get all cores stable :p 

CPU cooler: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro rev 2 (Fits AM3 and i'll be using Arctic Silver 5)