RAID 0 Cloning

zowguitar

Distinguished
Dec 21, 2011
I have a desktop with 3 drives, 2 drives (500GB) set up in RAID 0. C drive contains XP OS and all programs. RAID drives contain all .wav files. I'm an audio engineer and use the computer for recording, editing, etc.

Problem: C drive (OS) crashed. I bought a new drive and reinstalled XP.

I bought (2) external hard drives (1 TB each). I cloned both RAID drives to keep data safe.

The initial RAID was set up in Windows XP using Disc Management. When I boot up with the new C drive it does not recognize the old (500GB) RAID drives. I imagine I will have to reformat them both in order to set them up in RAID 0 again.

Question: Is that a correct assumption? If so, after they are reformatted, can I just transfer the data off the (2) cloned external drives onto the newly formatted RAID drives? Will that work?

If I do not have to reformat the RAID drives, how do I get Windows to recognize them? I'd like it very much if I didn't have to reformat them and Windows would recognize them. Is there a way to do that?

Thanks for your help.

That is really risky It might work but I would not depend on this. I would reccoment a clone on the whole raid 0 drive to some location or slowest but doable just copy all files to the two external drives if you do not have space to clone raid 0 drives to one drive.

Thent

alvgee

Distinguished
Dec 22, 2011
You have to enable all the drives as dynamic disks and select the two new drives as your raid 0. If you are using a raid through the OS.

Are you selecting raid 0 for speed? Why not use Raid 1 or 5 to avoid complete data loss like this?

zowguitar

Distinguished
Dec 21, 2011
@ hang-the-9: I did not clone the whole RAID array together. The software I'm using did not give me that option. I had to choose one drive to clone then the other. I'm using SPOTMAU Boot suite 2012.

zowguitar

Distinguished
Dec 21, 2011