Spontanious Restart

TheAndyPlan

Distinguished
Mar 10, 2010
Hi everyone. I recently built a new computer for the first time, and it ran really well....until recently
[i posted this in the homebuilt pc section but havent gotten much help so maybe you guys can help]

i have an x58 le motherboard/ i7 extreme 975/ 6gb ddr3 triple channel 1600/ geforce gtx 285 with a 9800gt in physx/ 1000watt power supply/ cooler master atcs 840 case.

i actually just got the gtx 285 today and i had been using the 9800gt as my main gpu for a couple years. after i installed the 285 i went to start bad company 2 and after the title screen for the game my computer just restarts itself.

let me note that i am currently using the stock intel cooler for the cpu, i have a cooler master n520 that i can install in its place, and i'm using ocz freeze thermal compound, but i think i will get some arctic silver 5 instead because...(deep breath) when i first installed the stock cooler my cpu temp was around 25 idle, 30 or so while playing bad company 2 on max settings. i installed the n520 using the ocz freeze (not the stuff it came with) and my temperatures went to 34 idle, 41 playing the game. so i thought "must be the cooler" so i reinstalled the stock cooler with the ocz freeze and the temperatures are still around 34 idle and 41 playing the game, so it makes me think that ocz freeze is just junk. my core temperatures are nearing 50 idle and 50+ playing the game, which is why my computer is restarting. (even though friends of mine say their cpus are running at 40+ and their computers work fine)

also i wonder if its the power supply, its an Ultra X3 1000watt, but i dont have any hardware to test it, and i dont know of any software i can use to monitor it on my computer.