Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Help picking parts with my 1st build

Last response: in Systems
January 5, 2010 4:21:10 PM

APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: Within 1 month hopefully
BUDGET RANGE: ~$600 but I can go up some if it is worth it

SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: web(school, Hulu, basic stuff), Matlab, PSPICE (circuit simulation software), visual studio, itunes, word/excel/pp, and maybe some other simple code compiler or circuit simulator.

PARTS NOT REQUIRED: keyboard, mouse, monitor, speakers

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: newegg.com (open to others if there are good deals but I like newegg)

PARTS PREFERENCES: AMD CPU (cheaper and the sempon in my laptop has held up well) for other parts quality brand (ASUS and GIGABYTE from what I have read)

OVERCLOCKING: No

MONITOR RESOLUTION:1920x1080

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS:

This is my first build. I haven't bought any parts yet but I've been looking around and reading articles for a while. I'm not as computer savvy as I'd like to be (yet) but it seems like building my own seems to be the way to go now. Anyway I'm still unsure about what parts I should get, what I need vs what seems cool, etc, and I've landed here, so I'm hoping you will help set me on the right path. (most of what I've done is google searches and read review on newegg)

I am not really a gamer so I don't think I will need anything too special.

none of the tasks I will use the computer for are too demanding as my 4 1/2 year old compaq laptop with a 1.7 GHz Sempron and 2 Gb of RAM can handle these tasks but it does can get loaded down with multitasking or running Matlab simulations sometime.

So here is what I am considering right now:

-already have: a keyboard and mouse and I plan to use my old flat screen monitor and also use a small HD tv as a second monitor to watch movies or multitask with a second screen.