Sign in with
Your question

RAID 0 on GA-X58A-UD3R

Last response: in Motherboards
July 30, 2010 6:23:35 PM

Hi all!

I'm trying to run RAID 0 on my computer with 2 identical 6Gb/s WD HDDs. This is my first time attempting RAID so please forgive my utter stupidity. There appear to be three possible driver sets (JMicron JMB362, Intel ICH10R, and Marvell 9128) and 3 possible control modes (XHD, IDE, and AHCI [maybe]). Which is optimal? It would also be helpful for my learning experience if I could understand why, but if you're too busy to be able to explain it to me its not necessary.

Also what the heck is RAID 10?

More about : raid x58a ud3r

a c 177 V Motherboard
July 30, 2010 6:42:27 PM

You need the driver that matches the ports to which you have your drives plugged in. For best performance (yes, I know they're advertised as SATA3!), you want them on the ICH. We'll need details for more of your setup - any other drives, plugged in where, board model number, whether you have a front-panel eSATA connector, etc... Best place to start is by reading the RAID & 'FakeRAID': Speed vs Data Security section of the 'sticky'...
m
l
a c 265 V Motherboard
July 30, 2010 6:51:52 PM

nghoff said:
Hi all!

I'm trying to run RAID 0 on my computer with 2 identical 6Gb/s WD HDDs. This is my first time attempting RAID so please forgive my utter stupidity. There appear to be three possible driver sets (JMicron JMB362, Intel ICH10R, and Marvell 9128) and 3 possible control modes (XHD, IDE, and AHCI [maybe]). Which is optimal? It would also be helpful for my learning experience if I could understand why, but if you're too busy to be able to explain it to me its not necessary.

Also what the heck is RAID 10?

Why do you want to run raid-0?
There is generally no real world(vs. synthetic transfer rate benchmarks) performance advantage to raid of any kind.

There are some specific applications that will benefit, but