Help me build a system

tightplay123

Distinguished
Jan 5, 2010
i'm looking to build the best machine i can for about 1000-1200. (without monitor). i assume i can do a lot better for this budget than going to DELL.

i want to run windows 7 pro 64bit

the machine will primarily be used for multi-tabling online poker, with a few games here and there (maybe starcraft 2)

other than this im not sure what else, im a complete noob to this but ive installed components such as hard drives, ram and graphics cards in my dells before without any trouble.

Refer to the thread in my signature. You'll get more response if you format it by the guidelines.

Off the top of my head, I've got this (just search Newegg for the items):

CPU: i5-750 $195

Mobo: Asus P7P55D-E Pro $190. It's got USB 3.0/SATA 6 GBps ports, so it's future proof. It also allows for Crossfiring in the future.

RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws 2x2 GB 1333 mhz CAS Latency 7 $100

HDD: Samsung Spinpoint F3 500 GB $55 or 1 TB for $85

GPU: Radeon HD 5850 $310

PSU: OCZ StealthXStream 700W $50 (after rebate)

Case: HAF 922 $80 (after rebate)

Optical: Samsung 22x DVD Burner $27

Total: $1,007 before shipping, taxes, combos.

If you need an OS, Windows 7 will cost you $100, leaving you well within budget.

tightplay123

Distinguished
Jan 5, 2010
only 4gig of ram? could i get 6gb or would i have to go straight to 8gb?

also what about hard drive speed, i heard they have 10,000 rpm hard drives now...i want the fastest hard drive i can get since poker databases are sometimes a million hands.

You should add RAM in sticks of two to match the dual channel motherboard. I've heard this isn't necessary, but you will lose some performance. Also, you probably won't need more than 4 GB anyway.

That is the fastest one available. The 10K RPM drives are old tech and are being destroyed by the F3 at 1/3 of the price. The only other option is a SSD, which will cost you upwards of $300 for a 60-80 GB one.

tightplay123

Distinguished