Please help, newly built computer won't power up

Distinguished
Jan 6, 2010
Hello there, I should preface by saying that this is my first time building a computer. I assume I've install the necessary parts for a computer but when I tried turning it on, it powers up for a second or two and then the power cuts off. I have tried plugging in peripherals such as a keyboard and mouse; and the green light on the keyboard lights up so I'm not too sure what or where the problem is. I don't get any beeping from the motherboard either, as the computer just powers up with all the fans, led lights inside the chasis and motherboard running and then the powers cuts out.

Specifications for the computer include:

Gigabyte GA-P55A-UD3 Motherboard,
Intel i5 750 CPU
Powercolor Radeon 5770
Kingston 1800 DD3 2x2GB RAM
IDE Hard Drive
IDE Optical Drive
Corsair 750W PSU

Any help would be very much appreciated, thanks

Did you follow the steps in the "Read Before Posting about Boot Problems" sticky? If not, do that. If so, what happens for the different steps?

Does a light on the motherboard come on? What exactly do you see happening? Are all the cables plugged in?

Distinguished
Jan 6, 2010