Sign in with
Your question

Will my water be okay?

Last response: in Overclocking
August 3, 2012 9:15:25 PM

Hi guys,

I got a 5 litre bottle of de-ionised water from my physics lab at uni. I've been running it in my CPU only loop for about 6-7 months and I saw no problems. I've recently taken it all apart for a big upgrade and on closer inspection I have noticed there are small amounts of bacteria growing in the tubing. I have had to recycle the CPU waterblock, but everything else is new, including tubing. 2 questions.
1) Will the plastic from the container have leeched into the distilled water too much for me to use it again?
- if yes, would it be okay for leak testing at least?
2) By using the same CPU block could I get bacteria transfer and quickly build up in my new system. - I use antibacterial drops.

This is only my second ever custom rig and I'd like not to ruin it!

Thanks in advance!
Pete

More about : water

a b à CPUs
a b K Overclocking
August 3, 2012 9:33:19 PM

I would replace the tubing throughout and you can kill the bacteria by filling the system with 50% Listerine 50% distilled water mix and letting it run for a couple of hours. Then run some 50% vinegar 50% distilled water mix for a couple of hours, and flush the system with distilled water only you should flush the system about every 6 months always. With distilled water I use HTH extended algae guard for biocides a couple of drops need to be added to the system every couple of months. I also use water wetter for corrosion control but that is me, many do not and have no issues.
August 3, 2012 10:01:30 PM

toolmaker_03 said: