Sign in with
Your question

Need some clarification on choices.

Tags:
  • Water Cooling
  • Overclocking
Last response: in Overclocking
August 4, 2012 4:19:10 PM

Heya, I am in the process of selecting parts for my new rig, fancied moving into water cooling too but after reading countless guides, and reviews etc. I still have a few worries about fitting things into the case I've chosen. I was hoping that someone or some people could shed some light on some of the things I am still unsure about.

First things first, the build is still not finalised at this moment in time but I have a good idea of what I want to do and most of the parts I want to fit in the rig.

CPU: i7 3770k
MOBO: Maximus v Formula Z77
SSD: 128GB Samsung 830
HDD: 3 mechanical drives I already use for storage.
PSU: undecided, I have a 700w Coolermaster silent pro lying around, but will upgrade if I need to (will sort this out last)
GPU: Asus 1.28GB Nvidia GeForce GTX 560 Ti 448-cores. (this is a GPU I already own, I shall be upgrading this in the not to distant future but not quite yet)
Case: CM Storm Stryker

Basically I am aiming to keep the system as cool and quite as possible, whilst doing a generous amount of overclocking on the CPU. Nothing too extreme but a a pretty high overclock I would guess at this stage.

Iv read that I should be able to fit a full width (60mm) rad in the top with 2 120mm fans in pull for exhaust. I have also read that I could add another 240 rad in the bottom if I should need it. I am planning on water cooling the CPU and potentially also adding the motherboard's integrated watercooling option in the loop too.

When I upgrade my GPU, to at least to a 670 if not a 7series card when they appear, I will want to include this card into the loop also. But not going to bother for my current card as its only staying for a short time.