First Time Building, i5 build

hannam

Distinguished
Jan 7, 2010
Hi guys. How are we all?
I have come to your site in the hope that you guys can provide your expertise to me.

I had been using a laptop for the last two years but recently the graphics card overheated and it died. (It's still under warranty so it's currently getting repaired.)
However, I would like to build a desktop as it would suit me better.
I have never built a computer before, but I am unhappy with the specs I see in normal retail stores, they seem to be catered to web / email checking.

I do alot of photoshop for my work, and I also like to multi task (run several applications) and play the occasional game.

Here is the specs I have so far:

HDD: Western Digital 808gb - $75
CPU: Intel Core i5-750 1156 pin - $221
RAM: 4GBkit DDR3 1333 kingston- $117
GFX: NVIDIA GTX260 896M - $213
MOTHER: Intel Boxed DP55SB - $245
CD/DVD: IDE LG - $38
MONITOR: 23.6" 5ms DVI Acer x243hq - $187
CASE/powersupply: Coolmaster CAC-T05 - $110
NETWORK: Asus PCMCIA WL-106GM MIMO Wireless -$22
BLUETOOTH: Dongle - $10
CARDREADER: Sony all-in-one. $15
-----------------------------
TOTAL: $1313 AU
=====================

Could you please provide advice to me, would greatly appreciate it. Would this build work? I am a student and I am trying to get bang for buck while saving the littles penies I have. The prices are all what I have found at a parts computer shop in Brisbane, Australia.

Is there anything I should change that could get a better PC for less money?
How do you think this build would peform? I am aiming for something fast and reliable.
As I have never built a computer before, I am unsure about whether it will remain cool enough, whether the parts are compatible.

Looking forward to hearing what you think.

hannam

Distinguished
Jan 7, 2010
I chose the IDE one because it was the cheapest haha, so basically you are saying probably not the best to choose an IDE. I'll make another choice there.