Am I damaging my motherboard with my overclock? Help?

Markali_88

Honorable
Aug 6, 2012
Hi guys. So I'm a newbie overclocker. Could really use some help here. Sorry if the question is stupid.

System specs:

phenom ii x4 955be deneb 3.2ghz Black edition 125W (c3 stepping)
Corsair h60 cooler
750watt corsair power supply
8gb 1333mhz sd ram (corsair)
Dual 5770 sapphire crossfire setup
Gigabyte 890gx motherboard which can supposedly handle 140W processors.

I overclocked using the multiplier alone to 3.6ghz with stock voltages(1.392vcore for my processor)

Ran prime95 for 8.5 hrs and all is well.
Temps 57 Celsius with prime95 ( if room AC is off goes up to 59/60)
Gaming temps 49 - 52 Celsius
Idle 40-42

Disabled cool n quiet, PCIe spread spectrum, and c1e in bios.
Changed voltages from auto to manual.

All seemed well..

Then I entered my overclocking values into the online extreme Power supply calculator And it showed that my CPU wattage for the overclock is 149W
My board was designed for 140W

Am I killing my motherboard?
Does the wattage matter?
Again I'm sorry if the question is a complete newbie question.
This is my first overclock.
Don't understand everything as yet.
Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Solution

Less power phases=worse.

Think of it this way:
Power phases are like highway lanes, the less you have, the more chance cars can get jammed in them. The cars can get jammed like traffic, because there aren't enough lanes for those cars to get to. In this case, car=clean power to the CPU, the more lanes you have the more cars you can carry, resulting in more clean power to the CPU!

Mt Power

Distinguished
Jul 17, 2012
yeah those calculator arent always right on.

your temps seem abit high. is the 40-42 idle, with ce1 disabled? for the little overclock and the low voltage it seems high. Im oc'ed (970be) to 4.2 and i get 58c with prime95, idle 34c

you may want to revisit your tim application...

Markali_88

Honorable
Aug 6, 2012