Help with Overclocking my PC I am a Noob!

pacostes

Honorable
Aug 8, 2012
Hi everyone,

I bought a PC from a guy on craigslist about 5 months ago here are the specs:

CPU: intel i7 920 @ 2.67ghz

Mainboard: Asus P6T DELUXE V2

MEMORY: 14 gb total, 3 Hyperx 2gb and 2 hyperx 4gb

GPU: gtx550 ti evga oc with 2gb

Hard Drives: 4 raid connected hard drives with almost 2 terabytes i think they are 475 gb each.

CASE: Coolermaster cmstacker aluminum

ok so here are the basic specs, the cpu fan is stock and in the case there are 2 big fans one in front and one in the back, although there are 4 slots for fans on the side plastic door and one big fan slot on the top. Now, i would like to know with this setup I have what are the Overclocking capabilities of this machine and what things or setups would I need to make it more efficient and obtain a better cooling. like the thread says I am a noob when it comes to overclocking so I need help please. Also, I would like to know if i can set up a ssd drive and keep the raid as well.

Thanks before hand,

see pictures to better understand what i have.
img20120808094044.jpg
By pacostes at 2012-08-08[/img]
img20120808094021.jpg

By pacostes at 2012-08-08
img20120808093947.jpg

img20120808093854.jpg

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

omnimodis78

Distinguished
Oct 7, 2008
Your computer is screaming to be overclocked! There are sooo many awesome guides floating around, I'd start with those actually. I take it you haven't OC'd before? No problem, we have all been at the starting line at one point or another, but the best (and safest) way to start off is to do a bit of preliminary research, and only after you have that nailed down, we can help with the fine-tuning or peculiarities should they arise.

Start here: http://www.bit-tech.net/hardware/cpus/2008/11/06/overclocking-intel-core-i7-920/1