Sign in with
Your question

Need OC Help with 1100T & Crosshair IV Formula

Last response: in Overclocking
August 9, 2012 6:32:19 AM

Hi guys!

I want to OC my Phenom II X6 1100T (6 x 3.3 ghz stock), I'm running a Asus Crosshair IV Formula Board. CPU, NB & SB all water-cooled.

Now I'm quite new to OC'ing, I've already read some stuff though. But it seems I'm doing something wrong, because I can't get the slightes OC. When I searched around for results, it seemed like people got their 1100T to 3.8+ Ghz EASILY just by raising the multi and cpu voltage to 1.4 - 1.45.

However when I set the Voltage to 1.4, I can't even raise the multi from its default 16.5 to say 18. (I'm not touching the CPU clock speed)

I can't even boot, get "Overclocking failed" Message all the time and have to reset to bios defaults. It can't be the temps, as I said the whole board and CPU is water-cooled.

I must have missed something.. I know OC results differ, but I won't accept that I can't OC it the slightest, after all this board is designed for OC, and temps shouldn't be the problem.. I didn't find any guide specifically using my board. I don't really know what to leave set at "AUTO" and what I have to setup manually, and to what values. I guess I need a detailed guide specifically on my board, because some settings must be wrong :/ 

Thank you very much for any help!
August 9, 2012 9:03:15 AM

Have you tried AMD OverDrive software for OC? if not give it a try, I got my 1100T on GA-890FXA-UD7 past 3.8Ghz easely in some minutes. Then changed bios settings got it to 4.2 Ghz, although later returned to 3.8 Ghz (cause somehow rising voltage to 1.53 V to get 4.2 Ghz seems to me result badly on CPU longlivity, but I may be wrong I am no pro) I also don't think its motherbord issue, my collegue owns same bord as you and it goes OC smooth. IMHO you most likely have made some mistakes in bios settings, so if you aren't quite sure about what you are doing in bios, then try AMD OverDrive.