Sign in with
Your question

Temps for a q9400 2.66ghz a bit high?

Last response: in CPUs
March 14, 2010 11:07:29 PM

Okay so I just got a C2Q9400 2.66ghz. When I purchased the CPU I got a CoolerMaster Hyper212 plus and thus far I cannot get temps to go lower than 36 degrees celsius idle. This is at stock speeds without any oc'ing at all. If I OC it the temperature is a little higher but not more than 5+ degrees. So basically im trying to figure out if this temp is high for a q9400 at idle or not.
a b à CPUs
March 14, 2010 11:27:31 PM

doomdude009 said:
Okay so I just got a C2Q9400 2.66ghz. When I purchased the CPU I got a CoolerMaster Hyper212 plus and thus far I cannot get temps to go lower than 36 degrees celsius idle. This is at stock speeds without any oc'ing at all. If I OC it the temperature is a little higher but not more than 5+ degrees. So basically im trying to figure out if this temp is high for a q9400 at idle or not.

well for idle that pretty good to average temps for the C2Q's. Now i dont think you'll get it much lower than that as you can never have the cpu as the same temp as the air around it.

Although idle temp are normally not a good indicator of bad cooling.

To know if your cpu having a temp problem, you'll need to run the cpu using a stress program like prime95. This will stress the cpu to the max, thus giving maximum heat output.

if you can run prime95 for about 10 mins and then report from your cpu temperature program what the max cpu temp is, This will give the us the info we really need to say if your cpu is hot or not.

m
l
March 14, 2010 11:33:38 PM

With prime95 It max's out at 55 degrees celsius. When I overclocked it to 3.2Ghz it maxed out at 64 degree's full load. I tested it for about 20 minute each time i was messing with it last night.
m
l
Related resources
a b à CPUs
March 15, 2010 11:52:02 AM

Very nice temps! Ah long as your not hitting 75c+ temps, your got great cooling. :D 
m
l
March 24, 2010 7:35:54 AM