Sign in with
Your question

Defective PCIe slot?

Last response: in Motherboards
August 3, 2010 8:15:42 PM

Hi everyone.

I'm pretty new to troubleshooting so I can really use some help here.

A friend of mine asked me to take a look at his PC. He told me he can't get any display from it. First I tried to find out if it's the VDU giving him problems but no, the computer had the same problem on my monitor. Next I unplugged the screen from the 9500GT and into his integrated card and a display appeared.

My first thoughts were that there is something wrong with his graphics card and that it wasn't software related since it doesn't even show the post screen or anything before Windows starts loading. Opened the case to have a look and discovered that the fan of the card spins but there is no video output. I was pretty sure the card needs to be replaced.

But just to be 100% sure I removed the card and installed it into and old computer lying around in my room. When I turned it on, the card worked! So I took my friend's computer, cleaned it properly and installed the card again. Still no display.

Now I'm thinking there is something wrong with the PCIe slot and the motherboard needs to be replaced. I tried to find any visible signs of damage on the board but none was found.

What I need to know: Does anyone know of anything else I can still try before we end up buying a new motherboard? Any ideas? Could it be something else causing the problem? My friend doesn't have a lot of money so it's really important that it fixes the problem!

Thanks a lot.

More about : defective pcie slot

a c 108 V Motherboard
August 3, 2010 8:29:47 PM

It is possible that something could be shorting in his case. I recommend you do a breadboard to rule out a case short.

1. Remove all connections to the mobo, but leave CPU and heatsink/fan.
2. Remove mobo (and anything you need to remove prior) from the case, and then place it on a non-conductive surface, like wood or a phonebook.