Sign in with
Your question
Solved

P7P55D-E EVO, PSU or Motherboard for case fans

Last response: in Components
March 15, 2010 3:37:49 AM

Seeking help from Toms Hardware again!

I have a Cooler Master 690 case with 3 (120 25mm) fans; Rear, Front and side, each have 3 pins and a Molex(?) adapter. I have a Corsair 650w power supply with Molex(?) connectors and a P7P55D-E Evo motherboard with 4 fan connectors; 4 pin CPU_FAN, 4 pin CHA_FAN1, 3 pin _FAN2 and 3 pin PWR_FAN.

I connected the CPU fan (Cooler Master Hyper 212) to the CPU_FAN but not sure about the case fans. I have read conflicting information about these fans, eg Do/dont connect case fan to PWR_FAN, do/dont connect a 3 pin fan to a 4 pin etc.

Is it best to just connect all to the PSU using the Molex adaptors?:)  It saves a lot of worry!! Is there an advantage to using Motherboard connectors?

Thanks again, I always ask for advice on this forum, appreciate the support!
a b ) Power supply
a b V Motherboard
March 15, 2010 2:59:11 PM

The PWR_FAN connector on the mobo is ONLY to be used to connect to your PSU, and then ONLY if your PSU has a connector for it. Many do not. Those PSU's that have a 3-pin Fan connector on the end of wires are simply providing a speed signal from the PSU's internal fan to the mobo so it can be monitored and displayed for you. The system does not actually provide any power to the PSU fan, nor does it control its speed. Those functions are done within the PSU itself.