Overclocking suggestions

Status
Not open for further replies.

snorex1

Honorable
Jun 25, 2012
Hi everyone, i'm kinda new to this over clocking thing and I've read the how to over clock guide but still somewhat confused. Any suggestion would be appreciated. So here is what I'm trying to do, Im currently running a FX-8120 at 3.3ghz (over clocked with my motherboard app(TURBO UCC)) my idle temps are at about 15-20C and 40-45C under load. I'm trying to see if i could achieve at least 3.8-4.0 GHZ with my current build. any advice as to how i could achieve this would be great.

system specs:
CPU : AMD FX-8120 with stock cooler atm ( will replace with a CM V8 if needed)
MB : AsRock 970 Extreme3
GPU : CF XFX HD 6870 DD
RAM : 16GB Corsair Vengeance 1333mhz
PSU : Rosewill Capstone 750W
Case : Cooler Master 690 KKN1
Have about 5 120mm Sickleflow fans and a 140mm CM fan running.

if any other information is needed, please ask :D

If you have never been in the bios you may want to take it slow right now untill you get familiar with navigating in the bios. A good thing to do would be to take your motherboards owners manual and look through it and go into the bios and see what the manual is refering to and how things are done in the bios. Doing an overclock by the Windows turbo app is a lot different from an overclock by using the bios settings.
The things that you want to get familiar with are the core clock multiplier and the core voltage setting , these are the two settings that are used for overclocking.
You also want to have a lot of patience and time because it can be very tedious to get a stable overclock.
To get to 3.8ghz or 4.0ghz should be fairly easy for that cpu to handle and you will be better off with an aftermarket cpu cooler.

G

Gah, good spec's even stock... just don't see why you didn't shell out the $20-$40 for an ASUS with the 970 chipset.