Sign in with
Your question

First time - Need help choosing parts for all around system

Last response: in Systems
January 9, 2010 4:44:23 AM

Hello,

This is my first attempt at building a computer and have little to no knowledge on it. I have read through forums and guides on different sites here and there (have been researching for the past 3 months) but become confused the more I read :cry: . Anyways, I have also read Homebuilt PC Buying Guide by jbakerlent as well as *Guide to Choosing Parts* by Proximon and am still left with many, many questions....here goes the template for asking advice! :D 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: Sometime in the next week or so.

BUDGET RANGE: 800-900ish After Rebates

SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: Watching movies/listening to music, gaming, other (work i.e. microsoft office, etc.)

PARTS NOT REQUIRED: Monitor, keyboard, mouse

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: Newegg.com (that is the only website I know of..any other recommendations?

COUNTRY OF ORIGIN: United States

PARTS PREFERENCES: Not really sure which parts to use, but AMD X4 955, Gigabyte mobo and HD 5770 is what I am sort of looking at right now....

OVERCLOCKING: Maybe (once I learn more on this, yes)

SLI OR CROSSFIRE: Maybe (I figure this is important for gaming purposes (?) and I am not hardcore into gaming)

MONITOR RESOLUTION: 1920x1080,

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS: I would like to have a quiet pc that I won't have to mortgage my house for. I would also like to have a pleasant gaming experience but I don't need to have it to a point where a bullet will seem to really be shooting out at me..as long as I see movement, I am fine ;) 
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------