New PSU and MOBO which 4 pin should I use

iallwork

Distinguished
Aug 4, 2010
Hello,
my new mobo has 20 + 4pins they are next to each other. my PSU has a 24pin connector that 4 pins slip off. do I use the 4 that slip off for the mobo or do i use the other 4 pin connector? the psu has two 4pin Connectors one being part of the 24 pin connector

iallwork

Distinguished
Aug 4, 2010
thanks MOTOPSYCO. My motherboard combo only has one 4 pin, nothing near the CPU. The other 4 pin on the PSU wires was bundled up with the perifial connectors.
This board has a spot for future CPU, maybe it's for that. I don't know. this is my first build.

What MOBO do you have - most newer MOBOs will have a 24 pin MOBO connector and another 4 or 8 pin connector for the CPU - Old MOBOs used to have just 20 pins for the Mobo and either did not have or have a 4 pin for the CPU - so it all depends on the MOBO you have !

normally the 20+4 will be used for the MOBO (either using just the 20 pin and leaving the 4 pin loose or using all 24 pins - but it is almost always just a single plug not 2 seperate ones !!) then the other 4 pin connector from the PSU will be used for the CPU plug if it is there or is not used (only started being used as CPU starting requiring more than 75W for the CPU which was all the 20 pin MOBO connectors could provide)

iallwork

Distinguished
Aug 4, 2010