Sign in with
Your question

Does anyone know if the nvidia NV996 is a 3.3v card ?

Last response: in Motherboards
August 6, 2010 1:19:43 AM

My mother board says on it not to use a 3.3v card or damage will occur. It is the AGP slot. I have a vision tek NV996 Card I want to put in it. I just changed my mobo and i need the card to plug my moniter into the mobo there is no other spot for it on the new mobo.

More about : nvidia nv996 card

August 6, 2010 1:23:45 AM

by the way I think it's a 64mb card (riva TNT2 64)
m
l
August 6, 2010 1:59:53 AM

The mobo says AGP 8x. Does this mean I need to get a AGP8x video card? Does this mean my card is.8V? From what i am reading will the wrong voltage card even fit into the wrong slot? Am I asking dumb questions? I will keep reading and searching.
m
l
Related resources
August 6, 2010 2:37:43 AM

I am a novice too, but am guessing you have to use a AGP8x video card. Could you post the mobo make and model?
m
l
August 6, 2010 2:59:14 AM

ASRock K8upgrade AGp8X SATA ATA 133 USB2.0
m
l
August 6, 2010 3:32:51 AM

Definitely has t to be an AGP 8X video card and it does not have a PCI Express slot!

Faster data transfer rates:

PCI-E > AGP > PCI

some links for an AGP card for your motherboard:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

I prefer XFX because they have lifetime limited warranty compared to others that have 2 or 3 years. I have a PIC-E XFX card which is treating me well and hope to stay like that. Please don't forget to check the Power Supply requirements for whichever card you are planning to buy.

Good Luck
m
l
August 6, 2010 4:00:48 AM

Is there any way to get my monitor working so I can see if my mobo combo will even work before i spend more money on this old computer. I don't use It for gaming but need to go on the internet. mostly for informational purposes
m
l
August 6, 2010 4:02:22 AM