First build, HTPC+ Bluray ripping

novuslotus

Distinguished
Jan 10, 2010
This will be my first crack at building a system, something I plan to use as an HTPC+. I’ll be working on it with a friend who has already put together a budget HTPC, but right now after having done some research myself I’m trying to come up with a final list of components.

Here’s the rundown. Please bear with me as I’m very new to this and until two days ago barely knew what the difference between DDR3 and DDR2 was.

APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: As soon as humanly possible, BUDGET RANGE: Around $700-800, before rebates.

SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: I’d like to use this rig as an HD DVR and Media Center, as well as (in a few months) be ready to play and rip Bluray once I purchase a drive. I really do want it to be an effective media center (playback video and stream hulu/orb), run XBMC & Miro, and finally, use it for everyday internet surfing and productivity. It will not be used for any gaming.

PARTS NOT REQUIRED: Will not need a keyboard, mouse, monitor, speakers for now, will opt to purchase a receiver in about 6-12 months. I also already have a PCI TV tuner from a previous desktop I’ll just throw in here. I plan to get Win7 64-bit OS separately, outside this budget, from school.

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: Newegg, Microcenter, Amazon but not married to any of those, COUNTRY OF ORIGIN: USA

OVERCLOCKING: Realistically, not now, but possibly FAR down the road

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS: Quiet is key, while being powerful enough to smoothly achieve its purposes

Right now, these are some components I’m looking at:

CASE – one of the cases from nMedia (likely 2000 series) which fits a full ATX board. ~$100

CPU – AMD Athlon II X4 630 Propus 2.8GHz Socket AM3 95W Quad-Core. $113
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103704