MesoSilver for Liquid Cooled Antimicrobial

bltjudge

Honorable
Aug 14, 2012
I have been doing research for my first water cooled rig for several months and have since decided on silver kill coils.

A recent discovery of a product called MesoSilver (Colloidal Silver) has brought the question of if this product could be used successfully in a water cooled rig.

http://www.amazon.com/MesoSilver-Colloidal-Silver-250-8-45/dp/B000ZK1NVK

Has anyone ever heard of this being used? If so what kind of results did it yield?

toolmaker_03

Honorable
Mar 26, 2012
that Is about .20% silver total in the bottle and that is not that much silver, you may need a couple of ounces per gallon to do any good.
I am using HTH super extended algae guard it is not as cheap but it has 27% copper in the bottle and has been used for years in fields for killing fungus. Now it has been adapted for pools I only use 3 drops every couple of months for growth control

I think that I can offer some unique personal scientific experience to your question. I used to work for a contract microbiology laboratory and I did a large study for a client who was marketing colloidal silver for use in dental offices to sanitize water lines.

I was surprised how effective it was against bacteria. If I remember correctly (it was 10+ years ago), at 50 ppm and above it was able to meet the acceptance criteria for a disinfectant, either 3-log (99.9%) or 6-log (99.9999%) reduction depending on the disinfectant claim they were going for. 50 ppm translates to 0.005% silver.

I would expect a 0.20% solution to be very good at keeping bacteria out of your loop. I don't know how effective colloidal silver is against algae though.

Hope this helps.

bltjudge

Honorable
Aug 14, 2012

Added some links so anyone looking at this can see what I saw.