Case for Crossfire?

Nayl

Distinguished
Jan 11, 2010
About a year ago I built a decent low cost gaming rig, which included a crossfire capable motherboard and an ATI 4850 GPU, with the idea that I could buy another and use crossfire when the time came to meet increasing requirements. But now I'm looking at the actual component layout inside my case (Antec 300) and wondering if this is just a recipe for frying my new video card. The issue is that the PSU is located at the bottom of the case, with an upward facing intake fan. When I install my second video card, there is going to be about an inch of clearance (if that) between the card's fan and the PSU fan. I'm no expert on airflow physics, but that seems like a bad design, not to mention putting two serious heat sources in close proximity.

Am I worrying too much? Should I be looking for a different case? If so, what case? I love the 300, but I've always thought the PSU placement at the bottom was a horrible idea.

Solution
The 900 and 1200 are both great cases, if not a bit novelty in the 1200 category. The PSU at the bottom on the other hand is genius. Theres no risk of falling if the supporters snap and it blows a little bit of air from the fan onto the motherboard.
The PSU being at the bottom is an excellent idea. It keeps the cables out of the way without needing a modular PSU. The problem is that the 300 is not a high end gaming case.

I don't think it will be a problem, but since it makes you nervous, it might be worth the money to buy a new case. I recommend the HAF 922 ($80 after rebate right now). It's huge, and one of the best out there.

If you want to stick with Antec, the 900 is also a great case, but slightly more expensive than the HAF.

shogun_11

Distinguished
Jan 9, 2010