Sign in with
Your question

Replacing PC fans

Last response: in Overclocking
August 15, 2012 7:47:47 PM

Hi,

Wasn't sure where this question should go so took a shot. I just purchased a new system in the Corsair 550d case which comes standard with two fans in the front and one in the rear as exhaust (all three are 120mm fans - the rear can be exchanged for a 140mm one). I decided to replace all three fans for better quality ones that run quieter and upgrade the rear to a better quality 140mm fan. All three current fans are plugged into 3pin plugs and I assume run at 100%.

My question is: Is it a good idea to buy PWN fans for all three and plug them into 4 pin plugs? I'm new at replacing fans but figured it might make more sense to have the control ready should I decide later to tweak the speeds. Also, when I change the fans do the PWN fans have to be adjusted when I put them in or do they start off automatically at 100% and I can adjust them down?

Final question: I use an open air cooler on my CPU and want to upgrade that fan also. Is it a good idea to use a PWN fan on the CPU cooler or should I just go with the non pwn fan and let it always run at 100% on my CPU?

Just confused about buying fans and what's appropriate for these areas. Thanks

More about : replacing fans

a b K Overclocking
August 15, 2012 10:20:53 PM

The main problem about having fans run at 100% speed is the noise. If you don't mind the noise then there's no point in wasting money on fan controller stuff. I've never used such devices but I assume that when plugged the fans will be defaulted to some percentage and then you adjust them to whatever you want.
m
l
August 15, 2012 11:10:00 PM

What I'm really trying to figure out is the PWN fans. I know they help me control the speed of the fan via the motherboard but I wanted to see if I should use something like that on my CPU open air cooler. Also, if I install PWN falls do they default to a certain % speed when I first start using them?
m
l