Upgrading/Repairing Homebuilt Computer, Looking for advice

Crazy-San

Distinguished
Jan 11, 2010
Hello everyone, I was looking around online for advice on computer parts and I have across this site and it looked like a pretty good place to try. A Little background. I am a computer Student who is currently out of both school and college (No place is hiring me...not even McDonalds and Walmart, and I'm not quite ready to head back to college yet) I built this computer during Christmas of '07, it was my parents big gift to me, and it's not bad if I may say so myself. Recently I had some trouble with the Motherboard and CPU. One of the clips holding the Cooling fan to the CPU and Motherboard broke, I'm not sure why. I just got finished replacing the fan bracket, and now when I start the computer there the lights all come on, but nothing happens with the Moniter and I can't turn the power off with the button, I need to use the switch on back. In my experience this means a problem with the Motherboard and/or CPU. The CPU could easily have overheated when the fan fell off, or the couple times i tried starting the computer not realizing yet what the problem was, but when I put in another CPU (which may or may not be working as it is from my previous, store bought, computer that my brother managed to kill) The motherboard may have been damaged by the fan falling off it's bracket.

Long story short I've decided that since I'm going to need to replace some parts anyway I may as well use parts that will either directly upgrade my machine, or will still be usable if I upgrade my machine.

APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: As soon as I can get a solid build and convince my parents that it's worth it.

BUDGET RANGE: I have 400....I may be able to get another hundred from my parents...if I'm really lucky they will spring for a bit more, but I'm pretty sure I can put together 400. When I have a more definite number I will post an update below as well as update this post