Problem with cables

ruffandruff

Distinguished
Apr 30, 2010
Hello all.....I want to know how many sata cables do i get with p7p55d e premium and asus max formula iii.

I wanted to because i have more than 4 hard drives.

In my p4 system there are only 2 sata cables and 2 sata power cable converters so i had to adjust with 2 hard drives but now i am planing to buy a ne system with i7 875k.

what are those sata power cables called and can i get sata power converters b,coz in my p4 system there are ide power cables. i had made it assembles by a store. I dont how they cpnverter ide power calbes in to sata.

1.I want to know those cables names..
2.sata power cables and sata data cables..their priceing...
3.how should i ask in a store for them?
4.can i buy them online? If So please give the site address.
5.I dont have enough power connectors from the psu can i extend them? If so what are those extenders called.

detailed expaination really helps me a lot...coz i am new to computers.

Thanks!!

damasvara

Distinguished
Jul 20, 2010
1. SATA cables are SATA cables, just like that...
2. SATA HDD receives power from the PSU, so count the SATA power connectors in your PSU.
3. For the converter, ask for an IDE to SATA converter, it usually can be reversed, from SATA to IDE. Note that I don't recommend using the converter, since if it fails, your HDD won't work (duh! of course it is! :D)
4. I don't know. But computer components are quite common, you should try and look for it in the local computer stores.

What exactly is your HDD type, an IDE or SATA?

ruffandruff

Distinguished
Apr 30, 2010

its is a sata hdd and the power connectors are ide. I dont even have enough power connectors from the psu.....i need 2 more.. can i extend them

Ide is the interface for data on older hard drives, not a power connector type, you possibly mean Molex (Big white 4pin block)
This will take you from a Molex off your psu to two sata connectors, run two hdd's off one Molex line,