New to liquid cooling

idlebrain

Distinguished
Jan 13, 2010
Im new to liquid cooling but I wanted to build my next machine with it. I just started finding the parts I want to use than got to the case and all hell broke loose. I looked up all no fan solutions and it does look like its possible without immersing my computer in liquid or having a 6 foot radiator I build myself. So im looking for a cooling system that can do video card and cpu for now, but ram, chipset and drives later. so far im going with bloomfield 17 920 chip, radeon 5970 video card, ASUS P6X58D Premium board, OCZ Gold 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 2000 (PC3 16000) Low Voltage Desktop Memory Model ram, and XION AXP Lan-Party Edition AXP-1000R14HE 1000W psu. There are so many options for case and cooling that im just at a loss, id like it to be semi cheap but I want to be able to either include all the cooling or to make it expandable to include it all later. with minimum vans and noise but something that can be shown off with excitement.

Might have better luck in the Cooling section...

And once you stick in an i7-920, 5970, a $300 board and 2000 mhz RAM (overkill by the way), you cease to be trying to do anything on the cheap.

I can tell you that you're paying way too much for the RAM and you shouldn't be using a 1000W PSU when a 700-750W would suffice.

IMO, liquid cooling is not worth it. You can get quieter, cooler solutions on air without the possiblity of springing a leak and losing a $2,500 computer.

vorpal77

Distinguished
Jan 16, 2010