Gigabyte board/ No display/ new build

drum254

Distinguished
Jan 13, 2010
Im new to this but am experiencing quite a problem with my new setup. My build list goes as follows-

Gigabyte MA785GM-US2H Motherboard ( AM2+, AM3 support)
AMD Phenom II x4 965 3.4ghz processor AM3
OCZ Vista Gold PC6400 DDR2 RAM, 4GB
Ultra 500 Watt Power supply
140GB harddrive, DVD/RW, DVDRom drive- all out of my old dell Dimension desktop

First off, I connected everything, including the 2x24 as well as the 2x4 power connector. I also connected the power and IDE cables to the cdrom drives and SATA2 connector/ power to the HD.

When i push the power button, all of the fans turn on, however I have no display. I tried using my working video card out of my dell (ATI X1900GT), as well as trying to use the onboard DVI and VGA with no luck. The screen I am trying this on is brand new and I have been using it for a few weeks on my computer that I am replacing. It never leaves standby mode.

Also neither CD drive works with the IDE cables plugged in. When i disconnect the cable from the drives, they both open and close. I tried with the stock settings of the jumpers on the drives the way dell had them (cable select), also I tried changing them to master/slave with no luck.

With both of these problems, I have tried various combinations of removing the RAM and moving RAM to different slots (knowing that the dual channel needs to be in the same color slots on the MOBO), disconnecting the HD, disconnecting CD drives, etc.. At one point all I had hooked up was the Monitor, the 2x12 and 2x4 connector to the MOBO and still had nothing on the display.